Hello Tokyo II

This is a backpack I made to use for work. It was started at the same time as the Zhou Mi bag but has taken a bit longer to make. I love sewing stiffer fabrics like denim and canvas. They’re just so amenable. Teamed up with colourful cottons and my own finishing touches makes for a beautiful bag. It’s had a lot of compliments and requests which is very flattering.  🙂

HT-05

I added a fringed, piped and embroidered slip pocket on the front. The inside, lined with Robert Kaufman’s Hello Tokyo and red cotton fabric, has a zip pocket with my flower zip pull on one side and double slot pockets on the other.

The straps and front of the bag have appliqué with embroidery on. The front also embellished with handmade flower buttons. Gold hardware all round and I added my flower zip pulls on the main double zip. Apologies for the threads not finished off on the straps when I took the photo.

Fabrics: Medium weight blue denim. Robert Kaufman’s ‘Hello Tokyo’. Plain red cotton.

Notions. Medium weight iron on interfacing. Iron on batting. Sew in heavyweight interfacing. Gutermann sew all polyester thread. Gold tone hardware and double zip from various sellers. 50mm & 25mm black webbing. String. Polymer clay.

What I learned: fringing, making my own zip pulls.

Leave a Reply

