Dior Tote

If anyone has a spare few hundred £’s to spend on a stranger I’d [sort of] love you forever if you bought me one of these:

1SMALL 'PANAREA' BAG IN ROSE TENDRE CANVAS

Anyway, below is my first attempt at my own version. A dress rehearsal to test the pattern.

DIOR-09

The quilting was about the easiest bit of the whole bag. My poor little Janome just can’t sew leather so the leather handles had to be hand sewn on. I don’t know what the real thing is like to use but I used mine at work for a day. A day was long enough. My straps are wider than the real thing but I found they cut into my shoulder. Maybe the people who can afford this beautiful bag just don’t carry much in it. LOL!

There’s a lot I’ll do differently for the next one.

Fabrics: Silver faux leather. Liberty print cotton. Veg tan leather.

Notions:Medium weight iron on interfacing. Iron on batting. Gutermann sew all polyester thread. Silver tone hardware. Magnetic clasp. Silver Rust-oleum fabric paint.

What I learned:  Quilt on the reverse side. So much easier to be accurate. Painting leather. My poor machine does not like even the lightest weight veg tan leather and I have some super thin stuff I used for the inside of the bag. I ended up hand stitching those too.

I made another one in different fabrics and with different handles. It’s proving to be a favourite tote. I use it a lot.

img_4306

Leave a Reply

