‘Hello Tokyo’

I started out bag making by trawling the Internet and downloading free bag patterns a couple of years ago but ended up only making a couple as they weren’t really the kind of bag I wanted.

I bought a lovely pattern from Emmaline Bags on Etsy which I really enjoyed making and still use that bag a lot.

Then I had a  mess about with purse frames. Below is a simple bucket bag made from a free Japanese pattern I found on Pinterest. The purse is my own adaptation of the U Handbag one that comes with the kit.

Fabrics: Medium weight denim. Robert Kaufman’s ‘Hello Tokyo’ cotton. Plain red cotton.

Notions: Silver Twin clasp purse frame. Self cover button. Gutermann Sew All polyester threads. Medium weight iron on interfacing.

I learned: Using purse frames. Appliqué.

Leave a Reply

